Taking the Leap: Writing Lesbian Romance

Starting this site, and publishing my stories, is a big leap for me. My partner says she wishes I would believe in myself half as much as she believes in me. (Sweet, huh? I imagine you can guess where I get a large portion of my romantic ideas for my work right off the bat!)

Nevertheless, there is an element of trepidation with putting myself out there, in more ways than one. I guess the biggest fear that I have is the same as any other writer. Fear that no one other than obligatory family and friends will like what I write.

I have written a lot of things over the years, but I didn’t shed many tears if one thing or another did not really make it. I wasn’t completely emotionally invested in those pieces–I didn’t feel like what I was writing was part of me.

Writing lesbian romance is different. I am a lesbian. My life revolves around my wife and our two kids. If I could choose any career path on earth it would be that of a successful lesbian romance writer.

And then I came across a quote the other day that really spoke to me. “A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for.” (William G.T. Shed) I suppose that is exactly right. I could spend my time writing things that don’t really mean much to me, or anyone else for that matter, and feel perfectly emotionally safe. But if I never put my real work out there, the work I truly care about, I will never have a chance of realizing my dreams.

So, I am taking the leap. I am declaring to the world that this is me, Eve Ferris, and I write lesbian romance! Short stories, novels, and everything in between.

And yes, I do hope someone likes it!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Taking the Leap: Writing Lesbian Romance

Leave a Reply

